I visited the city of Boston, Massachusetts in 2009 for the first time and wanted to share some of the thoughts and experiences I encountered.

As I said, it was my first time to visit Boston and I really wasn’t sure what to expect.  I was in New York City just two weeks earlier and somehow I half expected Boston to be similar.  I was very much pleasantly surprised.

After I landed and picked up my luggage I took a cab into the city.  To get to the city from Logan Airport you go under the bay and connect up with the now completed “Big Dig” network of roads under Boston.  Pretty amazing all things considered.  The History Channel has a great documentary on the Big Dig.

On Sunday I decided to walk to the Old North Church. A few blocks up I took a left and walked a couple of blocks in and found myself looking at the statue of Paul Revere.  Mind you I was looking for it but I was just sort of winging it direction wise.  Not far from the statue is The Old North Church.  I’d wanted to see this since I first found out I was going to Boston and glad I made the walk.  The church is still in use and services were underway when I got there so I didn’t go inside.  Across the street however is a tiny cafe where I sat and had some lunch while looking at the church.

As I ate and enjoyed the view I was continually struck by the fact that this little building, built nearly 300 years ago in 1723, was a living piece of our American history.  I don’t remember learning about the church itself in school but then I don’t remember many things I learned in school.  I do remember the legendary “one if by land, two if by sea” of course.  Over two centuries later there I was walking and standing on the very same location that true American Patriots once stood preparing to fight for their freedom and ours.

If you’ve done any reading on the founding fathers you know that many of them were wealthy and they risked every by starting a revolution against the British.  Most of them literally lost everything.

Do we remember what they fought and died for today?  The Boston Tea Party was fought over the concept of being taxed without anyone in government representing them.  I would submit to you that we are in the same place today.  Yes we technically have representatives but how often do they truly represent US? The people we elect to positions of government have a moral and legal responsibility to serve the people who put them there.  Yet all too often they give lip service to us while accepting personal and political favors to further themselves and those around them. Favors paid for with our tax dollars.

Lately we’ve been hearing a lot of “we won” from our leaders and we’ve always heard stories about how this Senator or that Representative voted for this or that bill in exchange for a vote on this or that other bill.  I understand compromise is a part of governing but what ever happened to doing what is right for the people you serve? Public servants seem to be neither available to the public or interested in serving it these days.

Our founding fathers would role over in their graves and kick our collective ass if they saw what we’ve done with what they gave us.  We’ve moved from a country that was founded on the principle that individual citizens and not government are best equipped to run their lives; to a nation filled with people demanding that the government provide for their every need.  If Paul Revere and the other revolutionaries thought this way history would have recorded him saying “The British are coming! The British are coming! Come get your government handouts.”

It’s ironic to me that Massachusetts is one of the most liberal as well as one of the highest taxed states in the union just two hundred years after the American revolution basically started there.

Without a doubt there are good men in government.  However they are far too few and far too silent.  What will it take for the Paul Revere’s of today to speak up?  How much government interference in our lives will be too much?

Consider this.  Name one thing the government does well.  I spent four years in the U.S. Navy and I have enormous respect for the men and women who serve as well as the military as a whole. Yet even the military is overcome by bureaucratic red tape and overspending. There is not a single thing that the government does as well as, much less better than, the free market.

Now consider this.  Throughout world history the concept of freedom has not been the rule but the exception.  America has been a beacon of freedom for over two centuries.  People from all over the world have come to our melting pot in droves to live their lives in the sunshine of liberty.  Men, women and children have endured incredible hardships and died simply for the idea that America represents.

Throughout our history the United States has been built by individuals who didn’t rely on someone else to get the job done but stood up and did it themselves.  They understood that government has a place but that it is very limited.  They understood that a government big enough to give you anything is big enough to take everything.

